Kick up your Intensity

<——– Click over here to comment on this post.

Well, we’re into our 3rd week so now it’s time to up your intensity. This week in your packet, I included a handout on ‘how to avoid plateaus’ which gives you ideas on how to mix up your workout routine. Take a look and try some things out! Change the order of machines you use, or change your reps/weight combination, or try a different cardio machine… any change up will help to keep your body from adapting to the routine you’re doing, which will help you burn more calories.

I’ve also increased the Core reps this week to 4 sets of 25! This shouldn’t be hard for those of you who are actually doing your core workouts. Also, you should be completing your core exercises much easier now – so try new moves! If you’re doing the standing ab workout, and you’re not feeling challenged, push yourself and try some floor moves (or use a ball for less stress on your back).

Are you ready to increase your intensity? What are you going to do this week to do that? Maybe increase your speed or elevation or level or weights?

19 thoughts on “Kick up your Intensity

  1. Paul Warner February 7, 2012 / 3:27 pm

    Have been shoveling snow 8 hours a day for four days in a row last week. Arms legs and back are ready to give out.

  2. Terri February 7, 2012 / 8:40 pm

    thanks for the motivation Brie! I have not pushed myself (slacker!) and I am ready to change that! I really feel good tonight,having checked off several things on my list.
    A journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.

    Don’t hurt yourself Paul!

  3. Nancy St. Peter February 8, 2012 / 8:45 pm

    It seems like I’ve really easily been putting off any kind of workout! Even using my own eliptical and bike here at home. I don’t even have to go anywhere and I still haven’t done anything!
    I did swim both Monday and today, and used the gym on Monday, but that was the last time this week. I’ve got to get recharged!

  4. Triva Evans February 8, 2012 / 10:16 pm

    I’ve amped up my core to 25 and plank to 60 sec.X2 oh maaannn do I feel it today! Also, I FINALLY MADE IT BACK TO THE GYM!! woo! no longer completely stuck at home! I feel really good about this week so far πŸ™‚

  5. Danielle February 12, 2012 / 7:44 pm

    I have really let my workout time slide this last week, I am not going to let this happen again this coming week! Managed to get my at home stuff accomplished…just getting myself to the gym proved to be difficult. Going to push for a full 4 day week of hitting the gym. Headed up to Anchorage on Friday.

  6. Triva Evans February 13, 2012 / 10:01 pm

    I haven’t felt really on the ball either. I let my diet slip a little and i’ve had a difficult time getting to the gym. I have high hopes for this next week though.

  7. Danielle February 14, 2012 / 6:30 pm

    Oups… well I missed the gym today, hubby insisted taking me to lunch at Rosco’s and then it being Valentines day he wanted me home right after work. But I did workout hard yesterday and I must say I can feel it in every movement I make today! I wont let this bring me down, hello tomorrow’s workout πŸ™‚
    p.s. I had a salad at Roscos πŸ˜€

    • Shirley Chihuly February 14, 2012 / 11:53 pm

      Danielle, way to go eating a salad on Valentine’s Day! That is indeed a hard thing to do on Valentine’s Day. I wouldn’t have had will power like that. Have a great week at the gym.

  8. Nancy St. Peter February 14, 2012 / 9:29 pm

    As last week progressed I got back into my at home work. I can get to the gym 3 days a week and I made it Mon. and Fri. This week I’m doing the new added things in the Sun Sals and the pushups even tho I started with the modified form.
    I too, had lunch out today. I took my guy to Frosos. I had salad bar and made good choices of vegies and used their really good balsamic vinegar for dressing. I did, however, have a bread stick (no butter!) and a small piece of cherry pie. and I had to have chocolate, Ghirardelli choco squares…2 raspberry and 2 60% cocoa. It’s Valentine’s afterall!
    Tommorrow…the pool and the gym!! See ya there!!

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 21, 2012 / 10:22 am

      Gotta love Valentine’s Day! Very impressed that you had the salad bar…even if you did have a bread stick too. (I admit, if it had been me, I probably would’ve justified having the fettuccine alfredo BECAUSE it’s V-Day πŸ™‚ )

      Congrats on completing your Sun Sals with the new moves added! And don’t worry about doing push-ups in a modified form – most of us are there with you πŸ™‚ We’ve got to start somewhere!

  9. Triva Evans February 20, 2012 / 9:23 pm

    I feel pretty good about this last week. I was able to get to the gym 3 times! WOOHOOO!! I wasn’t able to post as much as i’d like. My internet fails to open this page at home. Oh dial-up… I was a little bad about my Sun Sal’s. I only got a couple in this week and I slacked a few days of water but all in all i am pretty stoked about how this week went.

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 21, 2012 / 10:17 am

      Blast that Dial-up! At least you made it on to post for your point – and then some! It’s great when we get to communicate even when we’re on different schedules and routines. *Also, it’s very encouraging to see everyone leaving comments*

      I didn’t do any Sun Sal’s this week – oooooops! AND didn’t drink enough water over the weekend. Those things happen to us all. But, I am recharging this week! We’re almost done, so it’s time for us all to push ourselves even more. πŸ™‚

      So glad you’re doing so well, and making it to the club!

  10. Keri Collins Riley February 21, 2012 / 2:14 pm

    Let’s talk about getting back on the horse! I’ve failed quite a bit this week…I’ve not been to the gym a single time and I’m having to remind myself to do the ‘at home’ stuff…rather than it becoming a habit. I want to do it automatically! And I am one of those people who…once I mess up, I have trouble starting again. I lose my OOMPH.

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 23, 2012 / 8:35 am

      The first step to getting back on the horse is admitting that you need to! πŸ™‚
      I know you can get back in here & get those points – and hopefully it’ll become second nature to do the at-home things. But, until then, just keep it up! Only 2 more weeks!

Leave a Reply

