Welcome 2013 Challengers!!

Welcome to the 2013 Vinter Vigglov Blog!

Participants will be able to use this site to share information, successes, struggles and questions with the whole group! Be sure to bookmark the website https://ninilchikhealthclub.wordpress.com for easier access.

Check back throughout the week to interact with other challengers.

To receive your weekly point, you must contribute to the topic posted! Simply checking in without adding to the conversation does not count for a point.

Use this first post to practice adding comments. Refer to your handout for detailed instructions.

What are you looking to accomplish during this challenge?
What are your specific goals for this 6-week period?
What changes are you making to be healthier this year?
Let’s encourage each other by using this blog in an interactive way.
We encourage you to comment on each others’ comments.

19 thoughts on “Welcome 2013 Challengers!!

  1. Terri leman January 10, 2013 / 12:43 pm

    I am looking for motivation to get me moving. I have good intentions…haha. I know that it helps me to stay on track when I have support. Gosh my goal….I need to think on it. To get fit! To exercise every day….and to eat healthier. Same old things I tell myself all the time.
    Thanks for your hard work in putting this together Brie. Its going to be fun! I’m really looking forward to spending time with you women. The potlucks are awesome!!!

  2. Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge January 15, 2013 / 8:30 am

    It was so encouraging to get so many participants already this year. I hope you’ll all stick it out with me – it’s only 6 weeks! We can do it!
    Are you on Facebook? Click like on the right sidebar of this page to receive Club updates! And please share our page.

  3. Anita Lambert January 15, 2013 / 6:10 pm

    I am excited to finally have someone to keep me accountable. I am also excited to be able to do the challenge this year. I need all the help I can get so please (everyone) help me.

    • Terri January 16, 2013 / 10:29 am

      Anita, it’s the same with all of us, isn’t it? That’s probably the most valuable thing about the challenge is accountability. I too need all the help i can get! My first day i didn’t do half the exercises :o( …but I did awesome with my diet and food journal -and water….and SLEEP! First Sun salutations -pretty sad looking.

      • Anita Lambert January 16, 2013 / 12:48 pm

        I did pretty good with everything yesterday. Today may be another story. Will probably NEVER get the sleep thing. I did my sun salutations and they hurt worse than the exercises. I am REALLY out of shape and overweight. That should be enough incintive to lose weight and get in shape but it doesn’t seem to be. Ron has been great with my diet but his priorities are different being the “Man” of the house. We have been shoveling snow all morning, that should count for something.

      • Jamie Leman January 18, 2013 / 5:50 pm

        I’m having a hard time with the sun salutations because although I am flexible, my body is stiff in certain places that need to bend. Plus, I am so out of shape and lack strength in my arms and shoulders. The downward dog is going to take some practice to feel right, haha. I will keep trying, and hopefully by the end of the six week challenge, we’ll all be pros, right?

      • Anita January 23, 2013 / 9:35 am

        Hang in there Jamie. I think a lot of us are having difficulty with those crazy Sun Salutations. You are doing a great job on the equipment.

      • Jamie Leman January 26, 2013 / 2:07 pm

        Thank you Anita – I’m still not doing my sun sals; just trying to squeeze everything else in and seems there’s not enough time in a day, right? I’m still glad I am doing this, though, and no matter what I get accomplished, it’s a step forward on onward to a healthier me. Getting myself to the gym can be a challenge but once I step foot in the door, I’m glad I did. I am hoping that after the challenge is over I will continue.

  4. Terri January 16, 2013 / 10:30 am

    cute blog, Brie! love the worm :o)

  5. Tiff January 17, 2013 / 12:26 pm

    I am looking to accomplish my personal goals this year. If not only the 6 week inspiration from you all is a great incentive for all of us to help motivate and encourage each other, I don’t know what could be? I am cutting back in so many aspects of my life realizing the bigger piece of the pie isn’t really the pie, it’s the memories, laughs, lessons and health…so, cutting back on food for me is hard, it’s a huge part of my life (good food) but I am not dis-allowing myself anything, except for processed foods. I think that eating healthy isn’t that hard, for me it’s the portion. I think that making sure to be at the club at least once a day is also helping. I wish I could do it all and make every point, maybe towards the end of the 6 weeks, but right now my body is saying “Wow, slow down there Bucko, you just made a change in your life and you can’t try to squeeze it all in”-and I’m listening to my body’s intuition. Anyway, I wish you all the accomplishments of your goals and am here to stick it out with you!~ 🙂

    • Anita Lambert January 17, 2013 / 10:25 pm

      Glad to hear that someone else is gung ho…. I am so looking forward to accomplishing a healthy change in lifestyle. I, like you, have a love for food. Most of our fellowship revolves around it and that is where I am most comfortable, cooking and serving that food. We have already made some healthy changes and am looking forward to making even more as the weeks progress. That goes for the gym as well. The strenth training has been a new experience for me and I am already loving it. Have a great challenge. Look forward to our Tuesday night meeting.

    • Jamie Leman January 18, 2013 / 5:55 pm

      haha TIff – ditto on several of the things you said. My body is rebelling….today I worked out with Whitney and then did stretching, flexibility and core just now and I feel like I am going to vomit. I know it will get better and I need this to get me going and get healthier but it’s hard at first. As far as eating, avoiding processed foods may be tough but the food journal will help us keep track and be more aware. Trying to squeeze it all in is hard….I’m trying to just keep my eye on the big picture….getting in better shape and hopefully developing health habits that will stick with me for the long haul.

  6. Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge January 18, 2013 / 3:25 pm

    It’s so encouraging to see everyone really making a commitment and sticking to it this week – I know it’s only the first week, but it’s still a great sight to see everyone here at the Club making an effort to be healthy. 😀
    For me, since I can’t necessarily try to lose weight right now, my goals are a little different, but I’m just trying to be active and eat healthy. I’m really proud of myself for drinking enough water, because I struggle with that one usually, but the incentive to get a point is apparently enough for me. I am trying to cut out all processed foods, which is really hard for someone who doesn’t cook and who doesn’t go shopping often – sometimes the only food I have in my house is processed and I feel just bad when I eat it – it just doesn’t make me feel good. It’s amazing how GOOD food can make you feel good. :}
    Admittedly, I was SO incredibly sore after demonstrating Sun Salutations to different people and strength training before the challenge even started that I couldn’t even do my pushups all week. My arms and shoulders aren’t hurting anymore, so I’ll give it another shot today.
    Remember, the Club will be closed on Monday, so I hope to see you at our potluck on Tuesday night.
    -Brie

  7. Susan January 22, 2013 / 10:41 am

    what am i looking to accomplish – i would like to be able to get myself into the “habit” of working out on a daily basis (not to the extreme). reading through the literature and tracking points for activities like drinking 8 glasses of water, breathing 2x/day and flossing 2x/day is getting me to do those things that i’ve been letting slip. now just have to get myself to the gym!!

  8. Zoe Dixon January 22, 2013 / 11:51 am

    I would like to just be healthier overall, so I am making different choices in what I eat along with my work-out program. I am loving how I feel so far, and I actually found myself excited about going to the gym which I never thought possible. So far, I am seeing and feeling the results, so I will keep at it! 🙂

  9. Anita January 26, 2013 / 10:30 pm

    I am the same way Jamie. Getting to the gym is a chore but once I get there I am so glad I came. I have actually done the Sun Sals twice now. Still working on it. I am certain I won’t win the challenge but it has already been such a blessing. Just being able to sound off with others and I really enjoy getting out of the house on Monday evenings and sharing. I have been eating so much better and haven’t been as hungry all at the same time. What a concept. I can feel my closthes getting looser and the scales have been kind this past week. I am sure it won’t be that kind this week I am sure but I am thankful for every pound I am not carrying anymore and just toning up from the exercise. I am also encouraged to be doing so well, so far. Praying I can keep it up after the 6 weeks.

    • Jamie Leman January 27, 2013 / 7:59 am

      I went to the Center yesterday afternoon all psyched to work out and it was locked up tight. Disappointed, I returned home, but I did 20 min. on my elliptical at home and all my crunches so I still did something. I haven’t stepped foot on my home scales but maybe this morning I’ll take a peek 🙂 You’re doing great – I know I won’t win either, but like you, just knowing I’m getting healthier is great.

      • Anita January 27, 2013 / 5:27 pm

        I am so bummed. We won’t be able to be there tomorrow night. We are taking our daughter’s dog to Anchorage so she can fly home Tuesday morning at 9:00AM. Good and bad. Our Mimi Dacshund will be bummed for a few days with no other puppies to play with but Ron and I are all for it. We have had their Mini Schnauzer since Dec 15th. I know my 4 grandsons miss her. Also dissapointed we won’t be able to workout tomorrow becuz we will be traveling. Maybe we can get to the gym in the morning before we leave. We wish you all another week of hard work and accomplishments. Keep up the good work Jamie.

      • Jamie Leman January 28, 2013 / 9:55 am

        we will miss you at the potluck tonight – safe travels and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

