Week 3 – a little late…

Stay on Track

Well, it’s mid-week and I’m just getting to the blog (sorry about the delay, I’ve been sick for a couple days). I’m really bummed I missed out on the potluck, but I heard it was really great (with yummy food, as always!) I hope you’re all staying on track with your challenge so far – we’re almost halfway there now! I know we’ve lost a few people since we started, but we still have quite a few participants, which is very encouraging! I’m missing some checklists from some people, and as soon as I get them I’ll start posting weekly results.

I really love reading fitness blogs for support and motivation, and I found this letter on ‘Does This Blog Make Us Look Fat?’ – it made me chuckle and think about how important ifat vs. musclet is to get support while you’re trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle. It was a little too long to post here, so please visit the link. (Click on ‘letter’ above.)

I’ve heard so many people complaining that they’re not losing any (or enough) weight during this challenge…so I wanted to post some food for thought. Even though you may not be losing weight, by exercising and eating healthier and making all these healthy lifestyle changes, you are becoming healthier! The scale is just a number. Don’t get discouraged after only a couple weeks of this challenge – it took more than a day to put it on, and it’ll take more than a day to take it off. Plus, fat takes up so much more space than muscle! Just look at this graphic of the grapefruits vs. tangerines.

 

Stay positive. Stay encouraged. Keep it up!

What are you doing to keep yourself motivated?

Do you have a good support system?

Do you have a mantra to help you to keep going?

Please continue to share what’s working – and not working – here on the blog!

Thanks, ~Brie

17 thoughts on “Week 3 – a little late…

  1. Susan January 30, 2013 / 8:37 pm

    my mantra is “just keep going!”. when i mess up with my eating, i do it without a lot of guilt and don’t knock myself down for it. i really want to enjoy every bite of candy, pizza – whatever! i tell myself to shake it off and start anew tomorrow – and i really try to keep that promise to myself. i agree, in that it’s not about the weight but about a healthy lifestyle. it can be difficult to get myself to the gym, but when i go i make the most of it. mark is very supportive and now that he’s dieting as well, it’s a little easier. i also feel that i need to set a good example for him, as he struggles as much as i do. it gets so much more difficult as one ages – so even MORE important to establish good habits. keep on keepin’ on people!!!

    • Jamie February 2, 2013 / 8:30 am

      I agree Sue – if you beat yourself up for every little transgression, this wouldn’t be fun. And you’re right about the aging thing. I am sore and stiff much of the time due to my increases of weights and some new situps my daughter taught me using the weighted balls at the gym. I know the soreness signals progress, though. I am worried that my trip to Anchorage in a few days will put me behind, though.

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 4, 2013 / 7:59 am

      What a great attitude, Sue! Also, just because you splurge and eat pizza or candy or whatever, doesn’t mean your whole day is shot – swap a dessert with fruit or do some extra pushups and core work to offset the goodies you ate. It’s all good. :} So glad you have Mark supporting you – it is so helpful to have that support system at home (if someone could please tell Levi to stop cooking such YUMMY fatty food, that would be great) 😉

  2. Zoe Dixon February 1, 2013 / 1:04 pm

    I found this video and I think it could help to inspire anyone!! I give you this video with a disclaimer – You may need to have kleenex handy… And your gym bag because you’ll probably want to go to the gym right after. ❤

    • Jamie February 2, 2013 / 8:36 am

      thank you Zoe – that is amazing and very inspirational and yes it does make me want to go to the gym right now! No excuses, right? 🙂

    • Shirley Chihuly February 4, 2013 / 7:25 am

      That is the best video! I totally am inspired. I know I am the one falling over in Yoga, so there is hope. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 4, 2013 / 7:54 am

      Wow, Zoe – what an incredibly moving video! It’s a good reminder to all of us to never give up. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • Terri February 8, 2013 / 11:59 am

      what an inspiring story! thank you for sharing Zoe! to the mat i go!

  3. Susan February 1, 2013 / 6:55 pm

    where’s the “LOVE!!!” button????? thanks for posting this, zoe! i TOTALLY believe it’s possible and always nice to actually SEE that it is. NO EXCUSES!!!!!

  4. Jamie February 2, 2013 / 8:43 am

    On week three, I feel good about my progress. My support system is my daughter Whitney, who is always asking me how I am doing on my challenge, what I ate, if I went to the gym, etc. She admonishes me if I eat junk food like chips and she really cares that I stay healthy so I can be around for a long time to be a grandma to her son. Thank you Whitney – it helps a lot. I have learned to cut way down on my fatty meat consumption, which was a problem before (sausage and bacon). I am focusing more on eating chicken, turkey, fish, etc. I not only feel better physically, but also mentally and emotionally. I believe that no matter how much you change your eating habits, the key to losing weight and toning up is the exercise. Otherwise your progress will be much slower. I am glad I took this challenge upon myself and I believe I will keep it up once the challenge is done. Thanks VV and thanks to all the participants who are encouraging one another!!

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 4, 2013 / 8:03 am

      It’s so helpful to have the support that you have from Whit! You’re one lucky woman. It’s such a great motivator when you actually start feeling better – physically, mentally, emotionally – all-around! I hope you (and everyone) will continue your healthy lifestyle habits once you’re done. If you’re one who needs it laid out for you, I have extra weekly sheets if you’d like to use them after the challenge is over, just as a guide. 🙂
      Great job!

  5. Shirley Chihuly February 4, 2013 / 7:19 am

    I am glad I joined the Vinter Vigalov too. I haven’t been at the last two potlucks, but I will make it today. I totally agree with all the comments. I have been on this journey for the last 33 years and I continue today. I have pictures of Sue and I running the Marathan about 34-35 years ago. I will bring that picture to the Challenge tonight. I don’t think I will be able to run a Marathon, but perhaps walk one as soon as I get healthier. I have been trying to get to the gym at least three days a week, although I missed going the week I was in Anchorage. I am back and will make the gym at least three times a week. It sure is hard though, after working all day and then going to they gym, especially when I am hungry. Thank you all for your support. It sure makes working toward a healthier me much more fun. Have a great week!

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 4, 2013 / 9:42 am

      We sure have missed you, Shirley! Glad to have you back. Sometimes eating before a workout can make you sluggish and give you a stomachache, but having a small snack about a half hour before you work out may help to give you the extra energy to finish strong. I found this information written by a fitness guru on SparkPeople.com:
      Some people do have a hard time exercising without eating first, especially if it’s been a long time since their last meal or snack. These individuals often are more sensitive to changes in their blood sugar levels, which fall during the first 15-20 minutes of workout. That drop in blood sugar can cause tiredness, mild dizziness, or even faintness—especially if your blood sugar was already low, but eating something beforehand can help prevent this. If you have health issues like diabetes or hypoglycemia that can cause low blood sugar, you’ll probably want to eat before your workout. If you get very hungry during a workout (and it interferes with your energy levels or focus), or become so ravenous after an exercise session that you end up overeating, try eating before you hit the gym to avoid these problems.
      Try some fruit or a granola bar (homemade are best!) to stave off that hunger. Also, try to keep healthy snacks with you at work so you don’t get too hungry by the end of the day. 🙂

    • Jamie February 8, 2013 / 9:30 am

      Let’s walk a marathon together someday! I know what you mean about working out when you work full-time. When I was working and sometimes didn’t get home until six, I was mentally and emotionally exhausted and the last thing I wanted to do was workout, even though workouts are the best thing one can do in that situation, right?

  6. Tiff February 5, 2013 / 2:20 pm

    I think it’s difficult to be involved in changing my life style without a great support system. I think that that I have not strayed too far on modifications for my eating habits, just reduced portions and not gorging on carbs. When the challenges arrive and I don’t want to push any further, I think of my future if I don’t and I think about my Dad pushing me and saying “Great job and keep it going girl”. It helps!

    • Jamie February 8, 2013 / 9:28 am

      this week has kinda been a bust for me. Being in Anchorage and not getting to the workout center put me behind. My motivation this week is low but I am getting ready to head to the Club right now, even though I don’t really feel like working out but I will persevere. Tiff, I am proud of you – keep it up !

  7. Terri February 8, 2013 / 12:06 pm

    walking a marathon sounds like an awesome goal! Is there something this spring like a 5K we could all do? Women’s run? Walk for Hope? I’d love to!

Leave a Reply

