Welcome 2014 Challengers!!

Congrats on making the first step toward a healthy you!

I am very excited about the turnout last night, and I am encouraged to get healthier with all of you. This blog serves to help everyone keep in touch with each other. Without our weekly potluck meetings this year, it is especially important to stay motivated.

Just a few notes about the challenge…
*if there is something that you are unable to do on the checklist, please talk to me and we can modify it!
*Please listen to your body and only push yourself as much as your body allows – we do not want any injuries.
*If you are going out of town, you won’t be able to get points for cardio or strength, but everything else can be done anywhere
*Don’t forget about Tammy’s group class on Saturdays at 10am!
*If you workout with Tammy or during the Saturday class, your cardio will still count! (If you do 20 minutes, of course) Score!

If you have any questions during the challenge, email me or stop in and I’ll be happy to clarify.smart-goals

This week, I’d like you to focus on setting your goals. As stated on Livestrong.com, “Talking about your goals with friends, family members or colleagues helps you focus on what you want. It can also help you identify any opportunities or challenges ahead. Perhaps most important, it gives you a sense of accountability. By telling people close to you of your plans, you’re giving yourself extra incentive to follow through. If you don’t act on your plans, you then have to explain to those around you why you didn’t make any progress.” I want to hang up all of our goal sheets to help encourage each and every one of us!
Remember, you can write your name on the bottom line, or keep them anonymous.

To receive your blog post this week, please leave a comment on this post introducing yourself – a quick intro to who you are and what you’d like to accomplish during these six weeks. You can also post any questions or comments you may have. Have fun with this!

{I am leaving the prior posts on this blog – you’re welcome to browse past posts for inspiration} -Brie

13 thoughts on “Welcome 2014 Challengers!!

  1. Susan January 14, 2014 / 1:23 pm

    I really enjoyed meeting new people and seeing new faces in the challenge – rock on! I’m grateful to have the Vigglov and the classes to have to account to. I find it easier to join classes etc. in order to hold myself accountable. This way, I feel that I HAVE to show up and work the programs. I wish I could be more self motivated but I can always seem to find other things to do. Here’s a really good recipe for you Ninilchikens with all that Halibut in your freezers: 2 T pepitas (pumpkin seeds), 4 6-oz. Halibut fillets, 2 t kosher salt, 1/2 t freshly ground black pepper, 2 T extra-virgin olive oil, 2 T fresh lemon juice, 1 c vegetable stock, 1 1/2 T capers, drained & rinsed, 1/2 c halved cherry tomatoes (quartered if they’re big), 1/4 c torn fresh basil, plus a handful of small leaves for garnish. Method: Lightly toast the pepitas in fry pan – don’t allow to brown. As soon as you begin to smell them, remove the pan from the heat, transfer the pepitas and set aside. Sear the halibut (seasoned w/salt & pepper) in olive oil on both sides. Add lemon juice & capers to halibut. Add stock & tomatoes & simmer until the tomatoes release some juices. Place the pan in a 400 deg. oven until fish is cooked through. Baste the fish with the juices. Add the torn basil & pepitas. I like to serve the fish over brown rice with the juices spooned over all. Enjoy!

    • Terri January 15, 2014 / 7:54 am

      Wow Sue! That sounds so yummy! You are definitely a gourmet! Thank you for your thoughts and for the recipe I’m saving it for sure! I need the motivation

    • Shirley Chihuly January 18, 2014 / 1:55 pm

      This recipe looks so yummy. I will definitely have to try it. You are truly a wonderful cook and baker. I have been fortunate to be able to taste the food you make. Thank you for helping me with my Sun Sals on Saturday (that could be a tongue twister). You are my inspiration for sure!

  2. Terri January 15, 2014 / 8:01 am

    Thank you Brie. Your blog looks so cool and I really need the encouragement right now. I’m getting off to a slow start. I say down yesterday morning with the intention of writing down my goals and I still haven’t gotten anything formulated. My goal for today is to get that accomplished. Thanks for the push, Vinter.

  3. Kaye W January 15, 2014 / 6:24 pm

    Hi Everyone,
    I’m enthusiastic about accomplishing things on my sheet. It was great that we have so many participants. This is the first I have even gotten on a Blog. Am I doing OK?

  4. Shirley Chihuly January 18, 2014 / 2:00 pm

    Brie, Thank you for doing another Winter Challenge. I really needed all of you to spur me on. I started the week off slow, but when Saturday came and Tammy got us going, well……I feel good! Thank you to all who were there and gave me encouragement (Kaye, Sue, Tammy, Maureen and Lynn). I will be gone part of the week, but will try to keep working on being healthy. I want to live long and be healthy!
    Good luck to everyone who has joined the Challenge!

    • Kaye January 19, 2014 / 8:40 am

      Shirley,
      You did great yesterday at the class. Keep up the good work and see you next week.

  5. shadydogfarm January 19, 2014 / 11:53 am

    Hello,

    I’m Tiffany. I am a stay at home farm-mama, taking care of many farm animals and I also make ceramics to sell at various craft fairs and farmers markets.
    I’ve struggled for years with thyroid problems and other health issues. Even though I am very active at home with the farm (and hunting/fishing/snowmachining/etc) it doesn’t seem to be enough. My goals are to improve my heart and lungs, and if I am able to drop some weight in the process that would be absolutely wonderful.

    • Susan January 26, 2014 / 7:48 am

      Hi Tiffany! If you need empty egg cartons for your chicken’s eggs, I can drop some for you at the front desk of the Club. Also, do you sell your eggs and if so, how much? Thank you.

  6. Alexandria Cozzini January 19, 2014 / 4:28 pm

    Hi Ladies! I’m Alex & I’m a WAHM with an almost 2 year old. I do direct sales (think Avon, Mary Kay) for a health & wellness company called It Works! Global. My husband just got hired on a slope job and leaves for the first time at the end of this month. I’m looking to create and reinforce healthy habits & routines. I’ve also had a ton of fun with group workouts (Boot Camp 1!) so you guys should definitely join Boot Camp 2 with me!! 🙂

    • Terri January 22, 2014 / 8:11 pm

      I’m in and I’m alive today! Wow! I’m really encouraged and I want to share the good things that I did today. I walked slowly and concentrating on my joints- my very sad joints- for 2 miles on the elliptical at the club. I then joined the yoga class for my first time. It was miraculous~I’ve forgotten the bliss that it brings. I am committing to attend every class I can -thank you Elise! beautiful, beautiful teacher. It was wonderful to see you, Sue and Alex. It’s really cool that we were all in our own world- taking care of ourselves.
      I have also done really well with my eating today starting with my special oatmeal. it’s not really famous yet, but I’ll share my concoction and maybe others will try it and like it…who knows, it could become world famous ;o)
      I didn’t like what I made for dinner and I actually threw some away… that has always been a great sin for me. I wanted some ice cream (which I could eat everyday…and have been.) I read the label on the slow-churned and the serving size is 1/2 cup. woof! I’m not telling how much I usually eat. This time I ate a serving size. I am just so proud of me! ahem…and before 7pm.

      Welcome Tiffany! I love the name of your farm. Brie says that you have fresh eggs for sale!

      I’m sorry that I missed last Saturday. I’ll be there at the next one. I’m excited to get together and sweat with some of my favorite women! Here we go!

      I still haven’t written my goals. maybe tonite.

      Here’s my ‘good ‘n good for ye oatmeal’ (my comfort food)
      Start with good oatmeal – most times I have Quaker old fashioned oats but Bob’s red mill are really good!
      usually it’s 2:1 water:oats (Bob’s are thicker so follow pkg directions-more water and cooking time)
      add oats to boiling water and cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Cover and let sit for a few minutes.
      Optional method is to stir on high for about a minute then cover it, turn off the heat and leave it -by the time I’m dressed it’s ready.

      You can add any or all of the other ingredients, to your taste. I use them all.
      flax seed meal, chia seeds, nuts, raisins or other fruit, cinnamon, honey or molasses. You can add the other goodies to cook together with the oats, or after the oatmeal is done.
      When you put it in the bowl top with yogurt. Plain or Greek are what I like. (the most heavenly yogurt ever is Zoe Greek)
      Stir and get ready to hug your bowl and moan with delight.

      • Susan January 23, 2014 / 7:31 am

        LOVED that you joined the yoga class, Terri!! I hope you can make the Restorative Yoga course that Elise holds – now THAT is a real treat for your body and soul! I recommend it to EVERYONE! Thanks for the recipe – I will def. try it! I haven’t gotten the breakfast habit down yet as I can’t eat before working out in the a.m. But Sundays I will certainly treat myself. Have you ever tried the Irish Oatmeal? – to die for!!! The texture is very chewy – probably burn lots of calories just eating it! Give it a go sometime. I remember the chia seeds you treated us to last year. Time to go grocery shopping!

      • Kaye Waldsmith January 23, 2014 / 6:20 pm

        Terri, Thank you for the inspiration.  Where do you find the Zoe Greek?  I am going to go ahead and brag as I consider it a major accomplishment for me.  I have made it past the halfway mark in the club Winter Walkers program. Kaye

Leave a Reply

