Week 2 .::

Hi all!

Sorry for the late post this week – holiday weeks throw me off! But, no excuses… :}

I’m so encouraged by all of the increased Club activity so far! It’s so great to see you all coming in to rack up some points – even if you’re cursing me for forcing you to come. 🙂 Image

This week, we’re increasing or adding reps and moves! Yay! Don’t forget to add 20 core exercises, 2 pushups, 5 seconds to your plank, and also add Balancing Chair to your Sun Salutations. 

A note about the Sun Salutations: there are many different ways to do them, and I’ve updated the Sun Sals page to show videos that may help you find what’s comfortable for you. 

I encourage you all to use this blog as a sounding board to ask questions, motivate each other, share recipes, complain about the really mean health club manager that’s making you do all of this work… kidding, please don’t complain about me. It hurts my feelings. 😉

Boot Camp starts on Monday! I see some of you are signed up, but we still have some openings – spread the word – this will challenge you, make you sweat, make you sore, and make you hate Tammy just a tiny bit…but it’s so worth it! YOU are worth it. You can’t put a price tag on your health (okay, maybe for this you can…)

How are you all doing this week?
Still motivated to make some changes?
What are you finding easy and what’s harder for you?
Please continue (or start!) sharing your service, eco, and heart-well points by clicking on the links above.

Remember, if you need any help with any aspect of this challenge, just ask!!

Here’s to another week! Woooo! 

Image

 

3 thoughts on “Week 2 .::

  1. Susan January 24, 2014 / 5:34 pm

    Well, it’s about time!! (JK) I’ve had a really good week. I’ve done so much better with my no processed foods (now that I’ve eaten all my xmas chocolates last week) and I’m already feeling results, even if they aren’t visible. Feeling better and stronger is my motivation to stay on task. I have to admit that I’m not looking forward to the Boot Camp – but I know that I will feel accomplished after each session not to mention learning some new moves. The Restorative Yoga is going to be my treat to myself and is coming at a really good time!! I’m adding my pushups and time to my planks as well as the balanced chair movement (not easy). I have a really tasty “fast food” recipe for all of you who don’t have time to cook a complete meal and need something healthy right away. The included ingredients are staples in my house: Fat Free Refried Beans, cooked brown rice, grape tomatoes (seriously, they have the MOST flavor if you haven’t tried them), green onions, sweet onions, avocado and Extra Sharp aged cheddar cheese (Tillamook – hint, by using extra sharp you don’t have to use a lot cheese for a ton of flavor!). Mix all of the above ingredients to your taste (dice up the avocado, slice & dice the onions & tomatoes). Rice and beans = complete protein (no fat) The cheese and avocado are your only fat – don’t feel guilty about the cheese, especially if you’re working out! And the avocado is a “good fat”. Have this mixture in your fridge for the times when you need something quick and “legal” to eat – just microwave it to heat it up. SO YUMMY – even Mark eats it up and LOVES it (the man does not eat vegan – so don’t tell him).

  2. shadydogfarm January 26, 2014 / 1:59 pm

    I may grumble when I come in, but I haven’t cursed anyone yet! lol.
    I’ve really been enjoying the motivation to get in and work out. My joints have been limiting me a bit but it’s nothing a warm soak in the tub hasn’t improved. I’m more cursing the icy weather that has made making it in some days impossible!! Thankfully the roads are clearing up so travel is starting to get a little easier. I hope I can keep it up when my boyfriend Chris gets home from the slope. Sometimes things get crazy when he gets home in the whirl-wind of trying to get everything done in three weeks.
    I’m still super motivated to come. I have not lost any weight yet but I am definitely seeing improvements on my breathing and heart-rate. I’ve already lost ten minutes on the time it takes me to do a mile on the treadmill, which makes me super happy.
    I have found the elliptical is evil. After doing ten minutes on it I couldn’t move my knees the next day. After healing back up I tried it again and had the same result. I’m choosing to focus more on the treadmill since that seems to be working for me.
    -Tiffany

  3. Shirley January 26, 2014 / 3:26 pm

    I am looking forward to Boot Camp. I was up in Anchorage until Wednesday evening so haven’t worked out like I should be. Boot Camp will be good for me because it is right after work. I plan to get there right after work so I can get a machine in before class starts. Thank goodness for Saturdays. I have had super great Saturdays, able to do everything on the list. Except, I was so excited to get out before noon, that I forgot to do the bicycle, that won’t happen again. I enjoy the bicycle. My heart wellness was easy this week. I got to visit with a friend on Friday for almost three hours. We talked good health, good eating, etc. I had another friend pop by with her grandson and we visited for over an hour over hot chocolate. It was good to talk about health once again. It is funny how when one is getting older “good health, being healthy” comes up in our conversations. It is always fun to share what we do for good health, shovel snow off the roof, walk on the beach (the side roads are way too slippery). Thank you Sue for that great recipe. I love those fat free beans and now that tortillas have less fat and there is more variety, this is indeed a great lunch or dinner. Thanks for the reminder, I will be having those this coming week. Have a super 3rd week everyone and be safe on that ice.

Leave a Reply

