Week 4 – HALFWAY

Wow. We are officially past our halfway point! Congrats to all of you for making it this far…it’s not an easy feat to stay motivated. I’m so proud of each and every one of you for making (and sticking with) this commitment!816d0d454fac538c237d3265f2f1bbfc

We’ve all heard that you won’t lose weight if you don’t change what you eat…right? This is a hard one for me, and I’m sure I’m not alone. (I hope!) I have very little self control over my food cravings. One thing I have to remind myself over and over (and over…and over…) is portion control. Here’s a nice graphic that I found for reference. —->

Here are some Healthy Eating tips I found at greatist.com (love this site!):

1. Moderate, don’t deprive.
No need to go cold turkey forever when it comes to your favorite treats. Aim to eat nutritious foods your body loves 80 percent of the time. Use that other 20 percent to treat yourself a bit.

2. Graze healthfully. 
Tide yourself over between meals with healthier snacks. Whether your thing is sweet or savory, crunchy or chewy, there are plenty of options for snacking smart. Bonus: Not being too ravenous at the next meal might make it easier to eat slowly, notice your body’s fullness cues, and not overeat

3. Eat fresh produce throughout year.57b8e9cee4135d375a4d0b682aba4c03
Keep an eye on what’s in season because eating fresh means eating the tastiest fruits and veggies around.
[TIP: If your food can go bad, it’s good for you.
If it can’t go bad, it’s bad for you.]

4. Indulge smarter. Chocolate-dipped strawberries? Choco-Nut popcorn? Yes, please. Lower sugar doesn’t have to mean less deliciousness.  

5.  Understand emotional eating. 
There is a link between how we feel and how we eat, particularly when it comes to stress. Figuring out what kind of eater you are and whether you look to food to comfort you in times of anger, boredom, stress, or sadness will help you formulate a plan for making different decisions when faced with those emotions.

6. Make holidays, birthdays, and special occasions a little healthier. 
Holidays and special occasions are always a good reason to enjoy delicious food. Luckily, there are plenty of ways to celebrate without going overboard

7. Be mindful at meal times 
Staying tuned in to what you’re eating (as opposed to the phone or T.V.) is a great way to eat until you’re full, but not beyond. Being relaxed and mindful can also help you heed fullness cues.

8. Start the day with healthy.
Studies suggest that eating breakfast is linked to sustained weight loss and weight management, particularly when that breakfast is nutritious and fiber-rich and high in protein.

9. Make holidays, birthdays, and special occasions a little healthier.
Holidays and special occasions are always a good reason to enjoy delicious food. Luckily, there are plenty of ways to celebrate without going overboard.

10. Use the buddy system.
Having a partner with the same healthy-eating ambitions has been shown to help both people reach their goals. If you don’t yet know anyone with goals similar to yours, find community online.

886f747b135de6bab3d05395d773121d

Thoughts?? Comments?

How are you feeling after 3 weeks?
Are you ready to re-commit yourself for the final 3 weeks??

10 thoughts on “Week 4 – HALFWAY

  1. Susan February 7, 2014 / 9:46 am

    second week of boot camp is behind me – booya! I was feeling pretty tired after the first week of boot camp. trying to do vigglov and boot camp together is challenging to say the least. had a 90 min. massage by Elise on Wednesday and felt so revived the next day!! that is going to get me through the week! also looking forward to the restorative yoga which is coming at a perfect time. two more weeks after this week – yeah, we got this.

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 11, 2014 / 8:23 am

      Susan, you are so inspiring! I love seenig how hard you’re working! You’re doing so well – only two more Boot Camp classes, then you can focus on the VV Challenge. 🙂
      I’m so glad you were able to get a massage with Elise (I had one last week as well!) – what a treat! It’s so important to take care of ourselves, especially after working so hard!
      Someone just told me yesterday, “wow. I thought I was working hard, until I saw Susan!” Keep it up!

  2. Susan February 7, 2014 / 9:49 am

    p.s. – thanks, Brie, for posting all this informative reading! I read every bit of it and it’s very good advice! I also watch all the videos – helps with motivation for sure!

  3. Kaye W February 8, 2014 / 8:17 am

    Thanks, Brie, for the handy chart of portions. I am committed and ready for the second half of the Vigglov.

  4. shadydogfarm February 9, 2014 / 10:48 am

    I feel I’m doing better eating with this program. Documenting all my food down has me thinking twice about eating certain things, and not wanting to eat them to ruin the hard work I put in at the gym and at home. My major craving has always been mocha’s, and I made a new years resolution to not buy them anymore. At $5 a pop it was adding up anyway! Instead I put that money into gas to drive to the gym! I know I’m cutting a lot of calories in not giving into that temptation, and I’m finding it easier as the weeks go on. I don’t think I’ve ever gone two months without one of them.

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 11, 2014 / 11:21 am

      What a sacrifice! (I should follow suit – love my white mochas) It’s amazing how keeping a food journal changes the way we eat. I find myself asking if the calories are worth it – a lot of times they are, but at least I’m making a conscious decision. 🙂

  5. Shirley February 10, 2014 / 6:53 pm

    Where is the time flying to? It is hard to believe we are halfway there. I came down with the cold crud on Sunday and am missing going to the gym (boot camp) tonight. It really bums me out because I was on such a roll. I plan on picking back up and finishing the last two boot camps with a hurrah! I enjoyed reading your food chart, it is a good reminder of how much to eat. I tend to forget. Those healthy tips are a good reminder too. I am looking forward to continuing the Vinter Vigglov. It is what gets me motivated after the holidays. Thanks Brie for putting all of this together. I am working on getting my plank, sit-ups and push-ups done while I watch some inspiring Olympics tonight!

    • Kaye W February 10, 2014 / 7:10 pm

      Keep it up, Shirley. Sorry you have the crud. Hopefully, it won’t last long.
      Kaye

    • Vinter Vigglov Wellness Challenge February 11, 2014 / 11:27 am

      So bummed to hear you’re sick! I’m super impressed that you’re still doing some exercises..when I’m sick, I use that as an excuse to do absolutely nothing. 🙂 I know you were missed at Boot Camp. Hope you’re on the mend.

  6. Kaye W. February 23, 2014 / 6:43 pm

    One of my goals was to lose the holiday pounds. Well, it didn’t exactly happen as I only lost 33% of them. Please tell me that I just converted the flab to muscle.

Leave a Reply

