Week 5!

The key to a healthy life:933603caf2af381ddcc7b67f0c7127fc

Welcome to week 5! I can’t believe how quickly this is going!
It feels like we just started, yet we’re almost done.

In the past, this week is where many people have slowed down, eaten more, exercised less, or quit the challenge entirely. I encourage all of you to push forward and finish this challenge with PRIDE!

I love hearing inspiring stories… if you have a moment, watch this video:

Shared from greatist.com:
What can you accomplish in 100 days? After reaching a peak weight of 348 pounds and suffering from depression and low self-esteem, San Francisco resident LaKeisha Shurn decided to turn her life around. She joined the #giveit100 challenge with the specific goal of hitting the gym every day for 100 days. Her journey wasn’t just about losing weight — she resolved to improve her confidence and learn to love herself, flaws and all.

She posted daily videos on the #giveit100 website and at the end of her challenge, compiled a timelapse video that shows her struggles, triumphs, and a whole lot of sweat. Over the 100 days, LaKeisha lost 18 pounds and two dress sizes, but more importantly, she also went from depressed to happy and hopeful, and from feeling helpless to empowered. Inspired by her own transformation, she extended her goal to a full 365-day challenge.

Do you have any stories to share? Your own, possibly? Something you found online? If it inspired you, chances are it will inspire someone else. Feel free to share them here!

Did you know that this is Random Acts of Kindness Week (Feb. 10-16) – this week, try to make a conscious effort to get your service point. Remember, it doesn’t have to be something earth-shattering 🙂

What plans do you have for Valentine’s Day? Going out with friends or your significant other? Indulging on chocolate? Skipping the dessert to stay focused on eating healthier?

9 thoughts on “Week 5!

  1. akhotspots February 11, 2014 / 1:58 pm

    What are the hours you are open?  Thanks Paul

  2. Kaye W February 12, 2014 / 8:55 pm

    I did it. I did it. I did it. I walked the 100 miles for the Winter Walkers challenge. But, I’m not stopping there.

    • Shirley February 16, 2014 / 10:28 pm

      Way to go Kaye! I am so proud of you. Keep up the great work!

  3. Susan February 14, 2014 / 11:32 am

    love this video! love this woman’s determination!! proof that it truly IS possible – NO EXCUSES. I’ve vowed to take my journey 6 weeks at a time – beginning with the first 6 weeks of Vigglov. after this 6 weeks is over I plan to do another 6 week stint every day at the club. I may decide to weigh myself after the vigglov just for curiosity sake, but then again might not. weighing myself is a big head trip for me. if I don’t see results, I go into a downward spiral – trying to avoid that pitfall. I can feel the results – that’s my motivation. Kaye W. – and all you other vigglovers – you are my inspiration!!! keep up the excellent work! one thing I do know – it’s not an easy task. kudos!!

    • Shirley February 16, 2014 / 10:31 pm

      Sue,
      You are our inspiration for sure. You are the most determined person I have ever met. Keep up the great work. Keep inspiring me.

  4. shadydogfarm February 16, 2014 / 11:45 am

    I spent valentines day at the hospital up in Anchorage, but I’m so glad to be home now and cant wait to come back to the gym again.

    I’m making these changes for myself. I’m so tired of having health issues– and that’s not to say getting healthier by going to the gym is going to change them, but at least it makes me feel like I’m doing ~something~. I have a very active home life, but once I started coming to the gym I realized there is a difference between moving/working all the time and getting on the treadmill and keeping that heart rate up for a steady period of time.

    • Shirley February 16, 2014 / 10:35 pm

      Sorry about your having to spend Valentine’s day at the hospital. You are working in the right direction by making changes whether they are large or small. I have had a hard time with weight most of my life. I want to become healthier, just like you do. We joined the Vinter Vigglov to do just that. Keep it up!

  5. Shirley February 16, 2014 / 10:41 pm

    I absolutely loved doing the Boot Camp. I know that I wasn’t as fast or as in shape as most were, but it was such fun to do a different kind of exercise. I felt muscles hurting that I never knew I had. This week has been a bit of a struggle due to my cold, but I am feeling better now. I will be making it to the gym even if it is for only a half hour, that is more than I had been doing before joining Vinter Vigglov. I didn’t lose much weight during Boot Camp, but I lost an inch on my arms and legs. I knew that I had when I put on a shirt that I used to pin so it wouldn’t open up when I sat down. It is a bit looser fitting now. Thank you Brie for organizing such fun ways to get healthy!

Leave a Reply

