If It Doesn’t Challenge You, It Doesn’t Change You

We made it through our first week! Congrats! I am very encouraged by how motivated everyone is so far. Let’s keep up the intensity!

It’s time to turn in your check sheets for the first week. We can even tally them up for you! I’ll get something posted with weekly results once I get more sheets turned in. Something to keep in mind: this is a challenge. Remember to push yourself – only as hard as you should be pushing yourself. Increase your elevation on the treadmill, increase your level on the elliptical, try intervals where you only push yourself for short bursts… These points should be difficult to be getting – try not to just go through the motions. This week we start increasing with our Core (40), Pushups (12), and Plank (Add 5 seconds). These numbers are the minimum! I’ve seen a lot of you increasing your plank each time, or adding a pushup each day – that is great! Keep pushing. Your only competition is yourself.  if it doesn't challenge you, it doesn't change you

We are closed on Monday for Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so the potluck will be on Tuesday, as I said at the potluck. Buuuut, I completely forgot about our yoga class at that time! So, I’ve put together a poll to ask when you think we should do the potluck. We can keep it at 5:15 on Tuesday, which is during yoga. As long as we are pretty quiet, it shouldn’t be a problem. OR we can have the potluck at 6:15 that night, right after yoga. This way, the food smell and the sound of us visiting won’t disrupt the class, and if anyone in the challenge wants to go to yoga, they wouldn’t have to choose between the two – and that person could get 2 points for going to both. Elise and I are fine with either time, but I want to put it out there to see which time works for the majority of you. So, vote here:

What is Junk Food?
junk_food_definitionI find myself saying things to justify my unhealthy eating like “but it’s organic” or “they’re veggie chips, so they’re not really chips” – well, you get the picture. But deep down I know I shouldn’t be eating all the processed, fat-free, or sugar-free junk. I’ve actually gotten a lot of points for not eating junk food this past week – how are you doing with that?

How are you feeling about the challenge so far? Too easy? 😉 Too difficult? What’s working for you?

7 thoughts on “If It Doesn’t Challenge You, It Doesn’t Change You

  1. Brittany January 13, 2015 / 1:58 pm

    It is definitely challenging. I am up for the challenge though. I am really excited to see what my end result will be. I feel like it can be a bit time consuming in my already extremely cramped schedule but I am taking the maximum amount of time I can and I am able to do pretty well on my points!

    • Terri January 28, 2015 / 8:05 pm

      Brittany -you are amazing! With all of your obligations and responsibilities (4 children and a husband!) I am so impressed with your dedication. This is for you- and you are kickin’ butt! I’m cheering for you :o)

  2. Kristin January 14, 2015 / 7:08 pm

    Yes this is very challenging! But so ready to put it to the test the limits of what I am all about. Changing what I eat is the biggest part of it all and I can say I am doing it. Hope to gain lots of points in this challenge.

  3. Kristin January 19, 2015 / 7:10 am

    Every time tell some one that I’m doing challenge or they see me at the gym and they say there inspired bye how I much work out. It takes lots of will power to keep on going forward. Brittany you are doing a good job just keep it up and ever one that is doing this challenge it’s hard but you all doing a fantastic job at.

    • Terri January 28, 2015 / 8:08 pm

      You ARE an inspiration Kristin! You’ve gotta be proud of all your effort and dedication. I love seeing you at the club!

  4. Alexandria January 19, 2015 / 5:57 pm

    My biggest challenge is overcoming the excuses I can come up with to not do it, not to get to the gym, not to keep my food journal, not to got to bed yet, etc. Can’t wait to get back to work with Tammy Z though because when I’m working out with her I definitely know I’m being challenged!

  5. Shirley January 19, 2015 / 11:21 pm

    It has been a challenge for me because I have not felt well since New Year. I still have my ear infection and have started another round of antibiotic. I cannot hear well and have been feeling dizzy. I hope I feel better this week. I have been keeping up with my journal and lots on the check list except the very important part, the exercise:( So lots of challenges a d bumps in the road. Thanks for sharing everyone:)

Leave a Reply

